There is one thing missing from all of these trips I have been suggesting lately...  A road trip soundtrack of course!  What’s more fun than boppin’ along in the front seat knowing you are going somewhere special this weekend?  The key to a successful playlist is to include upbeat, happy songs that keep you smiling from start to finish.  Whether you know all of the words; or know how to play a good set of dashboard drums, these tunes are bound to keep your ride fun even if you hit some traffic.  I have personally found that Amazon MP3’s are cheaper than purchasing single songs or albums through iTunes, and they automatically sync into your iTunes library for easy access.

My Ultimate 2011 Summer Road Trip Song Recommendations are:
1. Knee Deep by Zac Brown Band.  There’s nothing more peaceful than envisioning yourself “Knee deep in the water somewhere, got the blue sky breeze blowin‘ wind through my hair”. 
2.    Honey Bee by Blake Shelton will have you singing along with its catchy lyrics and fun chorus!  Many of you now know him from being a judge on the new show The Voice.
3.    Send Me On My Way by Rusted Root has always reminded me of road trips because my cousin and I played it on repeat on our weekend getaway to Ithaca, NY years ago!  A true classic.
4.    Rod Stewart’s I Wish That I Knew What I Know Now is a song we all love in our hearts.  It reminds us of the great life experiences we have already endured, and the many memories still to come.
5.    Summer Time by Kenny Chesney is a song you may not know the lyrics yet to, but after your trip back will be singing for summers to come! 
6.    I would never leave out Sweet Home Alabama by Lynyrd Skynyrd!  This song is known by people of all ages and is one to roll down the windows for and sing loud to!  Guaranteed to make that family in the mini van turn their heads and smile. 
7.    Bad to The Bone by George Thorogood because everyone needs to get a little thrill like Thelma and Louise or Bonnie and Clyde once in a while! 
8.     Journey’s Don’t Stop Believing is one of the greatest songs to sing along to while in the car.  Go ahead, hit that high note “in the NIIIIIGHHHHHTTTTT!!!” even if you really can’t sing.  Who’s judging you? Blake Shelton’s only on your playlist, not in the judges chair for this one!
9.    I Gotta Feeling by the Black Eyed Peas is an instant dose of caffeine when the road is getting the best of you.  Crank that volume up and let the Pea’s do the rest.
10. Saving one of my favorites for last, and of course showing my Jersey Pride, you must have Bruce Springsteen’s Rosalita (or any Springsteen song of your choice!) on your list.  That man’s voice can send chills through your bones.  

You can take all of my recommendations, some, few or none.  Just know that if you are destined for a trip over an hour from home, you better prepare.  Changing the channel to keep up with the radio tower static gets old, and so do the same songs played over and over on your favorite Sirius XM channel. Get a little creative and enjoy the ride. 
 




Leave a Reply.